Posted by: wasatchprotocol | August 22, 2010

SLC to NC + MTB rides in Winston-Salem (pics + vid)

Well, after a few days on the road, I am now in North Carolina.  Driving 2,044 miles by oneself isn’t exactly a blast, but it ended up not being as painful as I had thought, thanks to Stephen King.  I had gotten an audiobook, “Under the Dome” which thankfully had me riveted for most of the drive.  Without it I would have been bored out of my mind since much of the scenery inside the U.S. interior is flat and yawn-inspiring.  The short SLC to western Wyoming leg is alright, but then it gets bad quickly.  I-80 from Mid-Wyoming to eastern Nebraska is just a bunch of farmland.  The drive down to Kansas City and then east on I-70 to St. Louis, passing into southern Illinois isn’t any more scintillating either.  In Kentucky, just after passing Lexington, the scenery started to show some potential.  Flat farmland gave way to rolling hills that turned into forested mountains in West Virginia.  Coupled with some low hanging clouds, it was quite nice.  That lasted into Virginia and North Carolina where I ended in the hills of the Piedmont area.  I should have taken some photos, but I was too busy hauling ass.

I got in on Thursday afternoon.  Friday morning I went in to the Wake Forest University Medical Center to get my new hire paperwork, health info, and drug test taken care of.  Done by noon, so I decided to check out the local trails.

First up was Horizons Park up in Germanton, just north of Winston-Salem.  It was a bit wet in spots, making cornering a bit spooky at times, but it was nice singletrack.  No pictures.  I’ll return when it dries up and get some.

Friday night I made some post-ride bruschetta in a frying pan (no oven here).  Pretzel bread baguette, orange and green heirloom tomatoes, and cheddar cheese, with a little salt and pepper.   Goooooood.

Yessir.

On Saturday morning I drove down to Hobby Park to try the trails there.  It’s a seven or eight mile loop around the park.  It was a little damp, but in better shape that Horizons Park.  It was nice and windy, with mostly smooth packed down singletrack.  Some very rooty sections and some short but steep ups and downs added some technical fun.  Add 85+ degrees and high NC humidity and I was soaked by the time I finished.

Starting the Hobby Park trail.

Nice smooth singletrack. A lot of rooty areas later.

A few minutes into the Hobby Park trail my chain exploded.  It could’ve ruined the ride, but luckily I had a few spare links in my pack.  I made a quick on-trail fix and carried on.

"One of these things is not like the other."

I used the chest mount to grab some footage.  Based on the final product, I’ve decided that mountain biking footage requires different editing than ski footage to make it super interesting.  I’ll have to work on it.  Maybe change up the camera perspectives with other mounts.  Anyways, enjoy.

Leave a Reply

Categories

